Blog Number 23: Revamp my skin and makeup routines

Where was I? Ah yes, the man with the potential to change my life…

For those of you thinking that Mr Right had just stepped into my life actually Mr Miracle has, as this man literally transformed me from Miss Dowdy to Miss Dynamic (!) with a flick of his makeup brush.

Last Thursday my face was treated to several hours of pure pampering in the magic hands of John Gustafson, beauty guru and make up artist to the stars. You may know him from presenting BBC’s Looking Good. Now getting an audience with this man is no mean feat as he has a 9 year waiting list. Seriously!

The first hour with him resembled a counselling session but a counselling session for my skin. Every minute detail of my relationship with my skin was analysed in detail. All the flaws in our relationship were explored and my tawdry little secrets were exposed. But nothing fazes this charming man. When I admitted to owning a mascara that came as a free gift with a Cosmopolitan mag, circa 1995, he didn’t bat an eyelid (no pun intended). He did roar with laughter though when I confessed to not owning a mirror and applying my makeup using the reflection from the toilet flush.

John Gustafson wields his mascara brush like a magic wand. He has the power and skill to make you feel like a million dollars and I can’t recommend him highly enough. He is not affiliated to any product or company and encouraged me to go on using my £8.95 moisturiser as it seemed to do the trick. My skin hasn’t looked this good in years.

The time I spent in his company was pure entertainment. I can’t wait for a repeat experience. That’s definitely one good reason to look forward to my 60th!

PS. I would like to say a massive thank you to my friend, Julie, who treated me to this amazing experience and to her sister, Anna May, who somehow managed to get me this appointment. I have tried to attach Anna May’s article that she wrote on John Gustafson for the Daily Express. I hope it works!

John Gustafson is based at Fenwicks in Bond Street. If you want to try one new thing this year, this is it. Go on, ring for a cancellation. You won’t be disappointed.

Anna May’s Article

4 thoughts on “Blog Number 23: Revamp my skin and makeup routines

  1. Hi JoAnne,

    This man could be the one – he sounds like a life saver…… I definitely want to find some time to have him wield his magic.

    Love,

    Sherry

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Hi Jo, that sounds a great experience-wow, what with your personal shopper, colour analysis & now a make up session with someone with a 9 year waiting list…I fear that you will be too glamorous & stylish that you will no longer want to be my friend. You are an inspiration in your 50 by 50 & I have loved reading your blogs-you should write articles for a magazine or something- although I’d better not suggest you change your career or else Ewa would kill me!!!
    I am counting the hours to Inchydonny, a place that i have heard about SO many times that I almost thought it was your equivalent of an imaginary friend. Looking forward to singing (very out of tune in my case!) songs in the minibus on the way from the airport-have you got pre-prepared song cards (I am also expecting them to have the accompanying Makaton signs as you are Super SENCo!!!)
    Well i look forward to spending a great few days with someone that i consider to be a wonderful friend & that I feel truly blessed to have met (Thanks to Brent SENCo training)
    Inchydonny here we come….

  3. Ah, Karen, I am only doing these things to keep up with you – my super stylish friend! I quickly realised when i met you, that i needed to up my game to stay in your league! So you are the inspiration.

    I cannot wait to board that plane. My iPod is loaded and my kindle stocked up. The weather is looking okay ish. No plans made as I officially clocked off teacher organisational mode at 3.30pm today!! Bliss!! Sorry, to all our non-teacher friends out there who are reading this. We’re all back on duty in 6 weeks 😉 it will fly by…

Leave a comment